Posted by: Wang | September 8, 2009

Application for Professional Placement

Lee Wang Ting
Blk 337 Bukit Batok St 34
#04-20 Singapore 650337
9654 8967
leewangting@gmail.com

8th September 2009

Human Resources Department
Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation
14-1 Shiba 4-chome, Minato-ku
Tokyo 108-0014, Japan

Dear Hiring Professionals,

I am a second year student from National University of Singapore, studying in Applied Chemistry.

Since I was a young child in primary school, I have had a great fascination with science. In particular, my interest in Chemistry was aroused in secondary school, when laboratory lessons were so wonderfully colourful and my interest in Chemistry has followed me ever since.

When I first heard from my course coordinator that there is a chance for me to perform my professional placement at Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation, my heart skipped a beat. I have always had a great curiosity and respect regarding Japanese companies and the way they work. I hope to join Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation to learn more. Not just about the applications of Chemistry in everyday life or the nuts and bolts of plant management, I want to learn from the Japanese work ethic. I hope that by learning more from the Japanese work ethic, I could better myself not just as an employee but also as a person.

I am interested in Research and Development, particularly in the field of clean energy and battery technology. As an educated young man, I feel that I should channel my passion, knowledge and energy into saving the planet for future generations. I believe that although global warming is entirely caused by human beings, we can reverse the damage done using our ingenuity so that our future generations can thrive in a clean and safe environment. One of the key reasons why I would like to join your company is because Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation is a firm supporter of sustained development.

One other aspect that I am interested in is polymers. My course of study also covers a great deal about polymers and it attracts me greatly because of the myriad of uses of these materials. From water bottles to fabrics, polymers are becoming part of our everyday life. I hope to learn more about these materials and the processes involved to produce these versatile materials.

Personally, I have always dreamed of going to Japan. Since I was young, I would bug my mother to teach me some simple Japanese hoping that one day I might be able to use it. However, due to financial difficulties at home, I could not pursue this dream. When this opportunity surfaced, I told myself that this is not to be missed. I hope that by working at Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation, I could get to visit Japan without adding to the financial burden of my parents.

Although I am relatively inexperienced in all manufacturing processes, I believe that the rigorous training by the NUS Applied Science course has prepared me for the tough times ahead. I remember spending days in the laboratory doing all sorts of experimental procedures to prepare us for work in a chemical plant. I believe that my energy, enthusiasm and eagerness to learn will overcome my shortcomings.

I hope that you would consider this professional placement application. I believe I can contribute to the company as a valuable employee and learn even more with a renowned company such as Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation.

Thank you for taking time to read this application. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Lee Wang Ting


Responses

  1. Hi Wang Ting,

    Your cover letter is convincing and persuasive.

    Though there are some minor points, which could be altered to suit the flow.

    Firstly, my eyes skipped back to your statement of “my heart skipped a beat.” Visually descriptive as it might sound, I think the HR personal would have preferred a more down-to-earth, professionally way of expressing your keen interest for the company. This is especially so since the Japanese corporate culture is well known for their prim and proper company structure and behaviour amongst the employees.

    Beside the interest in polymers, maybe you could add in those modules or lab experience (future FYP) you might have encountered to enhance your credentials.

    Next, the fact that you want to personalize your letter with anecdotes seems fine to me but feel that there could be some form of restrain and the way you express them. The notion of “bug my mother” could be better related.

    On another note, I like your “energy, enthusiasm and eagerness to learn” as this could be your good selling point. You come clean that you are greenhorn in this field and express your willingness and receptiveness could be a winning point. The fact that you like to learn more about the job and also about the Japanese work culture is added bonus.

    Overall your letter is earnest and fine. Though you might want to refine certain good ideas you already have included in this letter to make them more outstanding.

    Regards,
    Wei Xiong

  2. Dear Wang Ting,

    I think you have fully expressed your interest in the various aspects of chemistry and shown your desire to work in the company by stating what you can learn from it.

    You also mentioned about your qualities and preparation for the work, which would definitely appeal to the company. But maybe you could illustrate more on your qualities of being energetic, enthusiastic and eager with examples to make them more credible, and talk about some skills that you have acquired to show your ability.

    Perhaps you could also cut short on some elaboration which are not directly related to your application, such as learning Japanese from your mother, to make the content more concise? 🙂

    Cheers,
    Chai Yee

  3. Hi Wang Ting,

    Here’s my two cents worth of your application letter.

    You started off with a “glowy” tone on how your interest for Chemistry arose. In addition, there’s a coherent flow of how you find out about the professional placement, followed by a series of interest personal touch on yourself which i found very interesting!

    What i like the most about your application letter is the fact that you were humble and honest by telling that you’re inexperienced but counter your lack of experience with your NUS education. You’ve basically just put yourself at the advantage by showing your employer that you’re honest and enthusiastic about the programme!

    Though, i find it a little lengthy, but i guess the sincerity of your letter make up for it. *pats on the back* Good job!

    Cheers,
    Ariff

  4. Thank you for the feedback, everyone. I will keep them in mind for the following drafts.

    Honestly, I wrote this entirely in wordpress and I didn’t notice how long it was. I will take note of that next time round.


Leave a comment

Categories