Posted by: Wang | August 18, 2009

What’s so important?

First of all, welcome to my first blog.

I believe that’s very important to be able to communicate effectively. Personally, I’ve experienced several occasions of communications breakdown due to numerous reasons. Of course, I did not find them enjoyable and I hope to avoid them as much as possible.

In the information age, where the internet is such a powerful tool for networking and communications, I believe emails will ultimately render letters obsolete. My first attempts at trying to grasp email writing was during my NS days, where I was a staff officer. Emails were used extensively, both as informal and formal means of communications. Emails were used as formal approval of loans, on the other hand, it was also used informally as instant messaging. I foresee that future communications will revolve around electronic means such as emails.

On top of all that, I will need to craft up a resume and prepare for interviews next semester regarding my industrial attachment for year three. I understand that there are openings for overseas attachments to Japan, Germany and Canada. I hope to be able to go to Japan for my industrial attachment. Firstly, because I had always wanted to go to Japan. Secondly, I’ll get paid to go to Japan!

I hope that this course will help me achieve my short-term goal of going to Japan. Most importantly, I hope this course will equip me with the skills to tackle anything the future throws at me.


Responses

  1. Hi Wang Ting,

    You mentioned that the point on communicating effectively being important and negative effect of the absence of effective communication. Perhaps, you would like to share with us some real life examples of such miscommunication and how you resolve the problem?

    Cheers,
    Ariff

  2. Hey Ariff,

    I’ve had quite a few to speak of. One that I remember very clearly is when I was in NS. I was the DyS3 (Assistant Training Officer) at that time, dealing with training issues and such. As the training for recruits had just begun, I was already planning ahead for the subsequent armour trades phase. My immediate superior told me to send an email out to inform the OCs of an urgent training meeting to allocate training resources.

    One of the officers replied saying that he couldn’t make it due to a clash with the training program, so he suggested an alternative date for this meeting. Rashly, I indirectly pushed the blame to him without checking the training programs. This escalated into a flurry of nasty emails.

    Of course, I realised my error too late. I was under alot of stress and irritable at that time. Either way, it was a very unprofessional way to deal with this type of misunderstanding. Later on, I mustered my courage and called to apologise. He obviously gave me an earful before advising me how not to commit such mistakes again.

    This incident reflected badly on myself as it was sent to all officers in the mailing list, including my CO. They all looked at me as the rash young officer who tried to scold an OC. Even my peers told me “don’t be so kuailan (harsh with words). ”

    All in all, this incident changed my way of doing things. Nonetheless, I believe that this is a story worth sharing.

    Moral(s) of the story:
    1. Don’t be so hasty to push the blame.
    2. Get the facts right before doing ANYTHING.

    Wang Ting

  3. Hi Wang Ting,

    That really was a big hoo-haa! I suppose i share that same sentiment since my NS days were mainly handling with people’s request for transport and logistics.

    This shows how some of us can jus take effective communication for granted, all for the sake of getting things over and done with.

  4. Hi Wang Ting,

    i like the style of writing, It is simple and to the point. As you mention, the usage of internet and digital technology is going to be THE dominant medium for communication in the very future!

    your personal experience is not just a learning lesson for yourself, but to all of us. It reflects an important point of how one must adapt himself to the various changing mediums of communications and thus be effective in it.

    i am sure each one of us have our own experience of miscommunications. we must learn from our mistakes and from others too. i’ll keep your experience in mind when i am sending out offical emails.

    Cheers

    Alagu


Leave a comment

Categories